Mtn Grove VFW Presents Voice of Democracy Awards at Mtn Grove High School

    Mountain Grove VFW Post 3770 Sr-Vice Commander Jay Beal (left) presents the 2014 Voice of Democracy Awards to the top three students in Mtn Grove Schools.  Winners – left to right are 3rd  place Nathaniel Alexander, 1st place Anna Fisk and 2nd place Caylin Dawkins.  Mtn Grove JROTC Instuctor Shawn Sweir USMC Ret.  is on the far right.

    The theme for this years recorded essay was –  Why Veterans are Important to our Nation’s History and Future. Ms Fisk’s Essay went on to further competition.

       Each year, nearly 40,000 high school students from across the country enter to win a share of the $2.2 million in educational scholarships and incentives awarded through the VFW’s Voice of Democracy audio-essay competition.

    The VFW established the Voice of Democracy program (VOD) in 1947 to provide students grades 9-12 the opportunity to express themselves in regards to democratic ideas and principles.

    The national first-place winner receives a $30,000 scholarship paid directly to the recipient’s American university, college or vocational/technical school. Other national scholarships range from $1,000-$16,000, and the first-place winner from each (State) VFW Department wins an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C. 

Locally the Mtn Grove VFW sponsors the contest in Mtn Grove, Norwood and Mansfield High Schools and choose the top three in each school to receive a certificate and a monetary award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>